The Joys Of Haram Food.
I have a habit of reading islamic sites - I want to understand how muslims think, because in some ways, they seem to think the same way we infidels do, yet in others it's like reading an alien language.
One of my favourite reads is MuslimVillage which has a membership that runs from infidels (atheists and People of the Book) to supporters of Hizb ut Tahrir.
One item I found intriguing is that, yes, TIM TAMS are haram!
Now, for me, food is food. So long as it's well cooked, tastes good and is (usually) healthy, I'm fine with it. Except for mushrooms, as they make me throw up.
I've not paid a whole lot of attention to the halal/haram debate in foodstuffs, the same with kosher food. If I want halal, I'll go find it.
My personal opinion is that halal meat is inhumanely killed, so I do actively boycott it. Other food, like alcohol, additives and the rest I don't bother too much with.
But when I see a post about Tim Tams, probably the best chocolate biscuit ever, I paid some attention.
In the MV thread, the telephone number for Arnotts was posted (1800 242492) with the suggestion of phoning them and asking.
So I called Arnotts and said I'd got their number from an islamic forum discussing whether Tim Tams are halal, and apparently they aren't. The lady I spoke with said that they weren't, and none of their products were. She also said that they get plenty of enquiries about how religiously appropriate they are.
Arnotts do not label any of their food as halal, kosher or any other way.
When I said I thought that was a good idea, she asked why.
I replied that I felt that since the segment of our society that demands halal certification is less than 2% of the population it would be seen as pandering to a noisy minority and be a costly execise.
I offered my congratulations to her and her company for that stance.
She seemed somewhat taken aback, and pleased. She asked for my name so that she could pass my comments on to management.
Seems like there aren't too many compliments around for companies that do not kowtow to minority labelling requirements.
At the other end of the scale, we have this from over at Australian Islamism Monitor where Dairy Farmers have halal gelatine listed on their product.
For goodness' sake! Dude, it's gelatine.
My brain hurts. I think I need another Tim Tam.